A Fresh Start

When I walked out of my house this morning I was met with frost on the ground as well as on my car. It’s an odd thing to wake up to here in the south, but despite the bitter cold there were still signs of spring right around the corner. For one thing, there was a sunrise this morning. Not long ago the early morning hours were still dark and dreary and holding no promise. Today the sun woke with me and it wasn’t long before the excitement kicked in.

I love this time of year. It’s when you start seeing signs of life all around you and you start getting a glimpse of what this year’s baseball season is going to be like. All of the off-season deals are starting to come together and make sense and you can feel the energy in the air as you start to imagine a daily regime of baseball and bad eating habits. Ok, so the bad eating habits are there all year long, but there is no better excuse than to say you don’t have time to cook a good meal because the Sox game is about to begin. Junk food always tastes better during a game… unless the Sox are losing, and then nothing tastes very good anyway.

There is a lot of excitement over the deals made by the Red Sox FO this off-season, and rightly so. With the addition of Matsuzaka and a healthy Papelbon joining the rotation our pitching is looking pretty solid. A boost in offensive performance is something to look forward to as well with the additions of Lugo and J.D. Drew (and here is the standard disclaimer… if Drew can stay healthy). The excitement this brings as the team and the weather both start to warm up is intoxicating. I am proud of the accomplishments of the Sox FO this off-season, I didn’t expect so many fixes from the disappointing 2006 season this soon. Maybe that sounds harsh, but by the end of last season I was beginning to wonder if they would be able to fix anything at all.

They proved their abilities in putting together a team which, on paper, looks to be a contending team. Let’s hope that what looks great on paper translates into great on the field as well. Thankfully the season looks to be starting off with everyone in relatively good health. I’m crossing my fingers that it stays this way throughout the season (crossing toes for Drew’s health as well… can never be too sure).

I am anxious to see for myself exactly what I will have to look forward to this season. I can’t wait to see the boys back in action. I am patiently waiting to see how the off-season additions have improved the team. The birds are singing and the grill is ready to be fired up.

Thank goodness for spring.

7 comments

  1. levelboss@levelboss.com

    welcome Amber! what an excellent time to start your blog

    this year should prove interesting for the classic Yankees-Red Sox rivalry

  2. FANSONTHEFIELD.net

    Welcome Amber. I think we’re all pretty proud of the job Theo and crew did this offseason. I know we’re all usually optimistic come spring, but it’s hard not to think this is as strong a team they’ve had in spring in a long time.

    -Dan

    http://fansonthefield.mlblogs.com

  3. mike.los@lhsc.on.ca

    Baseball Princess:

    Welcome to MLB Blogs and please bring it ON!

    Have any of your scripts been made into a motion picture and how long does it take to write one of them?

  4. Amber

    Hi Mike, thanks for the welcome!

    I have had several scripts produced but they are indie productions, nothing you would have seen at a theater near you. There are several more in developement right now. I have taken a break from screenwriting to finish a novel which will be released soon, but I am anxious to get back to the scripts.

    As for how long it takes to write one… it depends. I have struggled with some and others I can get a first draft feature script in 48 hours. Adapting from books or writing something I was hired to write instead of my own spec script usually takes longer, but I still work faster than a lot of screenwriters I know. I’ve never had to suffer through six months of writing to complete a script.

    – Baseball Princess

  5. mike.los@lhsc.on.ca

    Amber:

    Thanks for the reply…

    You must be the female version of the guy in the movie “Fever Pitch” who lives and breathes for his beloved Red Sox. It’s ok to admit that your “Drew Barrymore”, I promise I won’t tell anyone…

    Jimmy Fallon the guy from the movie does an awesome job in his Pepsi Commercial. You can view this at “You Tube – Jimmy Fallon Pepsi Commercial”. Warning, do not drink while viewing, and please don’t try this on the street to impress your friends!

    Now, back to the Red Sox… We will have to wait and see how the experiment with “Matsuzaka” unfolds. I really like “Papelbon” joining the rotation this year. This guy can certainly pitch but what I really love is his intoxicating last name… I’m sure he is going to miss the heavy metal music they play when a closer makes his entrance from the bullpen…

    My crystal ball prediction for the American League:

    1. New York

    2. Boston

    3. Toronto

    Michael @ngelo

  6. Amber

    Fever Pitch is one of my favorite movies actually. And yes, I am a bit like Jimmy Fallon’s character… except I would never have wanted to sell those season tickets! I could always find another Sox fan to fall in love with…

    Drew is one of the nicest people on the planet, and I have to give my love for her here… I love you Drew! She is a sweetheart.

    I am going to miss Papelbon as the closer. Last season each game ended with a bit of Papelbon magic that will truly be missed this season by many fans.

    This year the Sox go all the way… that’s my prediction. You can hold me to that.

Leave a comment